Monthly Archives: November 2016

Plants Can’t Sit Still

Plants are stationary, right? Plants Can’t Sit Still invites the reader to discover the many ways that plants move.  “Plants can creep.  They slither underground or crawl through tall grass searching for the things all plants need.” The descriptive language … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, Kindergarten, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Plants Can’t Sit Still

Creeping Caterpillars

Starting with a description of the caterpillar’s body, this book continues with chapters on where to find caterpillars, their food, what they do, and a labeled diagram.  Simple text and colorful photos often with captions make this a good option for young … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on Creeping Caterpillars

Swamp: Louisiana, 1851

This book is part of the Survivors series, which are stories of bravery and survival at different times in history. This particular story centers around Lily LeGrand, a Cajun girl in the mid 1800’s. She is a strong, feisty character, … Continue reading

Posted in 3rd Grade, 4th Grade, 5th Grade, 6th Grade, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Swamp: Louisiana, 1851

That Stinks! A Punny Show-and-Tell

A pun-filled book that begins with a rainy day recess show-and-tell is sure to make students gasp and giggle as they turn the pages. Some of the puns might be a little over the readers’ heads (“that’s cheesy…Limburger” or”that’s gross…144 … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on That Stinks! A Punny Show-and-Tell

Before Morning

A Newbery Honor poet partners with a Caldecott artist to produce an illustrated poem written as an invocation – this is truly a powerful combination. This is a book that needs to be examined and studied several times through. Each … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, Kindergarten, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on Before Morning

Fuddles and Cuddles

Fuddles has a perfect life until Puddles (you can guess the reason for his name), the puppy, enters his life. Fuddles is no longer the king of his domain – there is a messy, loud canine there to ruin his … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, Kindergarten, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on Fuddles and Cuddles

Quiet Power: The Secret Strengths of Introverts

This is an extremely well thought out and organized book directed at kids and teenagers who tend to be quiet or introverted.  This reviewer tends to be quiet, but always in the middle of introversion versus extroversion, since I love … Continue reading

Posted in 10th Grade, 11th Grade, 12th Grade, 7th Grade, 8th Grade, 9th Grade, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on Quiet Power: The Secret Strengths of Introverts

We Know It Was You

We Know It Was You‘s intensity right at the beginning hooked this reader.  Someone was definitely  a psychopath!  We’re not talking blood and guts– this killer in this  works on an emotional level. Formatted as a detective’s log book with … Continue reading

Posted in 11th Grade, 12th Grade, NR - Not Recommended | Comments Off on We Know It Was You

Blackwater

A double homicide upsets the quiet Swedish village of Blackwater. The residents are left dealing with finding the murderer while dealing with their own personal issues. The two main characters, Annie Raft and Johann Brandberg, face communes and cults while … Continue reading

Posted in 11th Grade, 12th Grade, A - Additional Purchase | Comments Off on Blackwater

Last Princess, The

This dystopian novel takes place after the Seventeen Days of destruction. Eliza, the second princess of England, must find her captured brother and sister and stop the man who killed her mother. Eliza, pretending to be one of “the evil … Continue reading

Posted in 10th Grade, 11th Grade, 12th Grade, 8th Grade, 9th Grade, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Last Princess, The

Have You Met Scribble?

An active boy named Scribble and his imaginary friend, a bird named Buttonhole share many things. As they talk and ask questions about the world around them, some of the answers Buttonhole shares are thoughtless stereotypes. “Elephants bang into things and are rude … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on Have You Met Scribble?

Cricket Song

Cricket Song is an invitation to listen to the world around us.  A child falls asleep to the song of crickets.  The cricket’s song mingles with the “kreck” of frogs and leads to the poorwill and the fox.  The sounds … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, Kindergarten, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Cricket Song

The Guild of Geniuses

Mr Pip, a monkey and Frederick, the famous actor are best friends.  On his birthday, Frederick receives numerous outrageous gifts from people all over the world, but is unable to enjoy any of them because Mr. Pip is clearly unhappy. … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on The Guild of Geniuses

A Walk on the Shoreline

Nukappia lives with his adoptive parents in Ottawa, but spends his summers with his biological family in an Arctic Inuit village in northern Nunavut.   The story begins as Nukappia rises from a sleepless night at his Uncle’s house in town. … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, 4th Grade, 5th Grade, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on A Walk on the Shoreline

Suffer Love

Suffer Love, Ashley Herring Blake’s debut novel, will appeal to readers who enjoyed John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars or Nicola Yoon’s Everything Everything. The main characters, Hadley and Samuel (Sam) have the same attraction-with-a-complication, although in this case the … Continue reading

Posted in 10th Grade, 11th Grade, 12th Grade, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Suffer Love

Living in …Mexico

This book is told through the eyes of young Rosa who lives on the lower Baja Peninsula with her family. Rosa tells her followers about Mexico being in North America with beaches, deserts, rain forests, and mountain ranges. Rosa’a parents … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Living in …Mexico

Living in …China

This is a super quick overview of China for young readers. I was pleasantly amazed at how much information there was packed into these brief 32 pages! In 32 pages the book breaks China up into four regions: North, West, … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Living in …China

Mr. Putter & Tabby Hit the Slope

What’s not to love about Mr. Putter & Tabby? Cynthia Rylant writes another lovely book about dear old Mr. Putter and his companion, Tabby (who is old as well!). Arthur Howard adds his signature illustrations and we are off on … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, Kindergarten, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on Mr. Putter & Tabby Hit the Slope

You Can Fly: the Tuskagee Airmen

This book is a moving historical novel told in free verse poems. The use of second person voice is an approach that draws in the reader and and one feels like a part of the pilots’ story. There are few … Continue reading

Posted in 4th Grade, 5th Grade, 6th Grade, 7th Grade, 8th Grade, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on You Can Fly: the Tuskagee Airmen

Robots Rule the School

This title is #4 in the DATA Set series. It is an early chapter book and can be considered science fiction. Gabe, Laura and Cesar are the brainy group of friends that make up the DATA Set of their school. … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, Kindergarten, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on Robots Rule the School

Where, Oh Where, is Rosie’s chick?

This title is a follow-up to Rosie’s Walk and Pat Hutchins has done an excellent job with our friend, Rosie! Rosie has laid an egg and it hatches when her back is turned. She looks all over and her chick, … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, Kindergarten, R* - Highly Recommended | Comments Off on Where, Oh Where, is Rosie’s chick?

Tooth Bandit

This title is part of an early chapter book series under the Branches division of Scholastic. Tooth Bandit is the second book in the Stella and Night Sprites series. Stella can see sprites and fairies with her glasses and her … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on Tooth Bandit

Go, Billy, Go!

Billy is a boy like any other except he wants to be a cheerleader.  No one seems to understand.  His family questions him and the kids at school laugh at him.  But Billy practiced and practiced on his own.  On … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on Go, Billy, Go!

Arms & Hands

Arms and hands are part of your body.  Your arms can lift and bend and your hands can touch and pick things up.  This simple text introduces the reader to body parts including how they work together and how they are … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, A - Additional Purchase, Kindergarten | Comments Off on Arms & Hands

Birthday Surprise

Jess is feeling very sad because it’s her birthday and she is missing her parents. She hasn’t even received her birthday present in the mail! In order to cheer Jess up, Ella and her friends plan to make a magical … Continue reading

Posted in 1st Grade, 2nd Grade, 3rd Grade, R - Recommended | Comments Off on Birthday Surprise